Azerbaijan National Academy of Science

Get Adobe Flash player



<< < September 2014 > >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
Samur-Divichi lowland
Gusar district, Laza village
Minor Caucasus, Murovdag mountain ridge
Major Caucasus, Afurja waterfall
Major Caucasus, Rustov depression
Coast of Caspian Sea
Canyon of Gudialchay river
Nakhchivan AR, Batabat lake
Nakhchivan AR
Shollar lowland, forest
Gudialchay river
Chukhuryurd depression
Nakhchivan AR, Duzdag cave
Mud volcano
Mud volcano’s field
Major Caucasus, Shakhdag-Gizilgaya massif
South-Eastern Shirvan
Kura river

The Institute of Geography of ANAS named after acad.H.Aliyev is preparing a XVIII joint session of the United Scientific Council on geographical issues

of the Association of International Academy of Sciences and United Council on geographical problems of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

The Conference titled “Geographical problems of the Caspian sea region and ways to achieve sustainable development of the area” will take place on 15-20 September 2014.

About 50 scientists from Russia (Moscow, St. Petersburg, Irkutsk, and Astrakhan) and other countries, as well as geographers, academics, representatives of relevant institutions and organizations from Azerbaijan will attend the conference. (Ukrainian colleagues will not be able to participate at the session due to known events).

The physical, socio-economic and geographical problems of Caspian Sea region, as well as sustainable development of areas of different scale in Eurasia (regional and local) will be comprehensively discussed during the session.

The program of the session:

September 15 –arrival of participants

September 16 - scientific sessions, dinner in the evening

September 17 – scientific sessions; Baku city tour

September 18-19 – excursion (coastal areas of the Caspian Sea and the eastern slope of the Major Caucasus)

September 20-departure of participants

Members of organizing committee:


V.M. Kotlyakov –academician of the Academy of Sciences of Russia, chairman of the United Council

L.G. Rudenko- academician of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, deputy chairman of the United Council

R.M.Mammadov- academician of the National Academy of Sciences of Azerbaijan, Director of the Institute of Geography of the ANAS named after acad.H.Aliyev.

Members of organizing committee:

Professor A.A.Tishkov, Doctor of Geography

E.K.Alizade, corr. member of the ANAS, deputy director of the Institute of Geography of the ANAS named after acad.H.Aliyev.

O.B.Glezer, PhD, scientific secretary of the United Council

Z.A. Hamidova, PhD in Geography, scientific researcher of the Institute of Geography of the ANAS named after acad.H.Aliyev.